Thinks on Things

A gathering of ponderings…

So You Don’t Want to go to Church Anymore?

when she gave me the book i was, needless to say, slightly offended and put off. i had no idea what point she could possibly be trying to make besides noticing i’ve dropped off of regular sunday attendence and wanted me to get back in church.

so i took the book graciously and then went home and put it on a shelf. and there it sat looking at me with it’s guilt-ridden cover and judgemental pages for almost 3 months…

then i started reading.

i suppose i should have paced myself a bit better because once i began reading, all the lessons seemed to flow freely and i felt like someone had talked with me and finally put into words what i’ve been trying to figure out for a few years. it was overload and i’ll have to go back and reread it all. i was surprised to discover that the title was intentionally (and very significantly) misleading. i was so excited!! here was a book that was actually confirming thoughts and feelings that i’ve had about church and it wasn’t telling me i was wrong! didn’t judge me, didn’t tell me to get back in church, didn’t tell me i was going to hell for not attending any church.

at that point i wondered if my mother had even read the book and knew what it was about… i was certain the message it was giving me was not what she had intended!

all in all, it was a good read with many points to ponder. i hope to have new discussions with new people as i continue to live in Christ rather than act on a stage. feel free to discuss this if you are interested at all. email me (postalhoot at yahoo) or contact via fbook.

 

ps: this post was not intended to be a summary of the book, although some of it’s lessons will no doubt be referenced in future posts. the book, so you don’t want to go to church anymore?, might also go well with blue like jazz.

January 1, 2009 Posted by | All My Thinks, Faith Thinks, Life Thinks | 1 Comment