Thinks on Things

A gathering of ponderings…

Hitchhiking

I’ve noticed recently, while delivering my mail route, that there are a lot of hitchhikers that like to ride on my car through the countryside. All summer long I pick up various insects that hop onto the hood or the windshield. They get on when I make a stop and then go for a ride until they decide they like a new place. Or they fall off because of my speed…

So a few weeks ago I picked up a grasshopper and he rode along with me for almost 5 miles! And for me to travel 5 miles takes a while on the job. He was probably on my car for at least half an hour. Not sure where he thought he was going but he must have had some issues at home and needed to get away…

And last weekend there was a fly of some sort that really must have had sticky feet. He hung on for dear life as I was cruising between mailboxes. Then came the longer stretch of road… He just hunkered down and made himself as aerodynamic as possible. This made me a bit curious because most of the other fellas blow off at about 25 or 30 mph. This guy really impressed me so I decided to have some fun. He hung on as I tested him for all he had- 60 mph! And that wasn’t the end either, I had to slow down for the next set of boxes. I may never know what this little guy was capable of cuz he was still on the windshield after that thrill ride.

October 25, 2007 - Posted by | All My Thinks

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

