Thinks on Things

A gathering of ponderings…

How Embarrassing

Don’t you just love it when you spend a whole evening hanging out with some friends and meeting some new people and having a great time? …And then you get home and find out your fly was down the whole time. D’oh!

Now the real puzzle in all of this is trying to figure out why I was embarrassed? Come to think of it, I don’t really get that embarrassed by much at all. So why would this have had such an effect on me? Usually, when something happens to me I just roll with it and make it out to be sort of funny. Or I pretend to have done it on purpose (which is easily detected, by the way, which makes it all the more funny). There are a whole lot of things I’ve done throughout my life that could cause just about anyone to be embarrassed and forgetting to zip up is pretty low on the list.

I don’t believe it has anything to do with making good first-impressions on the new people I met. A lot of the time I simply don’t care how I come across to others. More and more I am realizing the negative effects of trying to be someone you are not. So I battle that by just being myself, and if others don’t really like that, then I’ll find other ways to interact with them that still allow me to be myself.

Pondering this puzzle, I have come to the conclusion that the difference was in who knew about it and what they decided to do about it. In the majority of other cases, everyone knew (including myself) what had happened and it was pretty obvious that it was funny. It is much easier to brush off something stupid when everyone acknowledges that it happened. Faulty occurance -> recognition -> laugh about it -> move on.

But this time it was different. I’m sure at least some of the people knew about it. But I did not, and they chose not to say anything. There was a breakdown in the simple system of defusing embarrassment. There’s no telling how long this went on either, but I’m sure the longer it took, the more people noticed and the more people became a little embarrassed themselves.

Final analysis: Ignoring elephants in the room can lead to awkward and potentially embarrassing situations for many people involved.

October 22, 2007 - Posted by | All My Thinks

1 Comment »

  1. I like it! Really good insight.

    Comment by Steve | November 5, 2007


Leave a Reply

