Thinks on Things

A gathering of ponderings…

The Slushman Cometh

This month has been extremely stressful in all areas of my life; hence, no recent posts.

I have been working a lot recently and had several opportunities to interact with some of the older folk on my mail route. One day I was delivering after a particularly heavy snowfall had begun to melt in Minnesota’s shifting weather. Roads were insufficiently plowed from the beginning so there was only enough room for vehicles to drive through. (Mailboxes were not cleared well either…) As I was nearing the end of my route I realized I had extra time so I stopped to chat with an older man who lived in the area. He was out walking and enjoying the change in weather which was now in the 40’s.

What was odd however, was his choice in walking sticks. Upon closer review I concluded that he was indeed carrying a very long ice-chisel. I decided not to ask. Instead, we made small talk about the weather, people’s crazy driving habits, and gossiped about his neighbors. It was a good conversation and I found myself more comfortable talking with him than my first chats with older folk. We seemed to be at ease in each other’s company. Me leaning out my window, him resting on his “walking stick”.

After I decided that I should leave and finish my route we said good-bye. As I drove away I began to realize the reasoning for his unique choice in walking sticks. This man had been clearing paths in the gutter lanes of the road so that the melting runoff could pass easily and not flood the road causing freeze-ups! I almost laughed at the idea and then realized that this old man was really a boy at heart. Playing outside, making rivers, helping without really helping, just plain having fun.

Then I had a vision of the future and I could clearly see my dad (and possibly me) doing the exact same thing… And it was good.

March 23, 2007 - Posted by | All My Thinks

2 Comments »

  1. That makes me smile. I could definitely see myself doing that, too, when I´m old…or maybe this winter. haha.

    I really appreciate you sharing these little random tidbits about life, and old people in specific. They always make me smile.

    Comment by Charlie | March 24, 2007

  2. Thank you Charlie, for following along so faithfully on this sporadic journey of randomness… 🙂

    laj

    Comment by postalhoot | March 26, 2007


Leave a Reply

