Thinks on Things

A gathering of ponderings…

Old people are funny!

The following is a retelling of 2 events recently that have caused me to rethink some of my thinks and want to create new thinks.

Incedent Number 1: Yesterday I was walking through my town on some errands. I was about to cross one particular street when I noticed that a car had approached the intersection and the driver appeared not to know where she wanted to go next. The car was going slow and sort of rolled through the stop sign and began a large circle around the intersection to perform a U-Turn. She was travelling slowly so I figured I could simply walk through the assumed circle and both of us would be on our ways all the more quickly as neither would have to stop for the other.

To be on the safe side (as I have been hit by a non-observant driver in the past) I made eye-contact with the elderly lady as she turned her car in the circle. It was then that I noticed the gleeful smile on her face as if she had just done something extremely sneaky and perhaps scandelous. She had her finger to her lips as if she wished to plead me into a secret pact that her illegal maneuver would never be revealed. She was clearly having a good ol’ time driving around the intersection and making a fun joke of it all. It was great!

In response, as I was laughing out loud, I had to shake my finger accusingly at her in mock contempt. I glanced back after completing my crossing of the street I could see that she too was laughing to herself.

Incedent Number 2: Last week I was leaving my bank and, like a proper gentleman, held the door open for another older man. As he passed through the doorway he thanked me. It was so fast (and sort of socially expected) that I almost missed it. But he caught off guard because he said “Danke shein”. I quickly reviewed all the German I know (which isn’t much) and replied appropriately, “Bitte”. It was pretty obvious that neither of us were in fact German which made the exchange that much more humorous. We both smiled and went on our seperate ways.

Current Ponderings: These 2 scenarios have caused me to wonder if I haven’t been wrongly harboring some ill thoughts towards the elderly community in general. Old people drive slow. They’re mean, way too old-fashioned, and just not hip with current culture. They just don’t seem to get it, whatever “it” happens to be at the moment…

So my current task is to try to curb those thoughts. I want to create new thoughts based on encounters that I actually have with these people, rather than simply going by rumors, stereotypes, or other people’s say-so. I will try to seek out opportunities to cross the generational gaps and learn about their lives. As these 2 example have already shown me, old people are funny!

(could be like this video…)
(or could be like this video!)

February 21, 2007 - Posted by | All My Thinks

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

