Thinks on Things

A gathering of ponderings…

Masks: Angel of Music

I watched ‘The Phantom of the Opera’ yesterday. The Phantom wears a mask that hides his hideous face and repulsive character. He parades around as The Angel of Music with a mask of charm and beauty and song. Those who know no better would think nothing of it.

The Angel of Music sings songs in my head…
T
he Angel of Music sings songs in my head…

The Angel’s mask is a kind answer to Christine’s prayer; thoughtfully taking an orphan under his wing of protection and teaching her awe-inspiring vocal skills, making her a star of the Opera House. The mask also shows him in a good light being a beautiful singer with soulful music. All in all he seems a pretty good fellow and we end up feeling sorry for him as he loves a woman and she learns his true nature and he is forced to let her go because she could never return his love. The Angel’s mask is designed to make us see a side of himself that causes us to believe in him and his lost and lonely cause. This is the intent of his mask.

Masquerade! Paper faces on parade…
Masquerade! Hide your face so the world will never find you…

I am no different and I wear my mask well. People that don’t know me inside often see me as a strong individual, secure in who I am. I tend to appear patient and generally happy, but most of all, humble. This is the intent of my mask.

Tomorrow we will violently rip off the masks and say hello to the ugliness inside.

December 23, 2006 - Posted by | All My Thinks

1 Comment »

  1. In light of Christmas just around the corner it has occurred to me that maybe the second posting should wait until after the holiday. So let’s all celebrate Christmas and then we’ll get right back to prying back layers of my life…

    laj

    Comment by postalhoot | December 23, 2006


Leave a Reply

