Thinks on Things

A gathering of ponderings…

I didn’t do it

I was pondering tonight on the homeless man I left standing at the intersection.

Holding his sign and shivering in the cold of the night it was obvious that he needed help. Perhaps it was money he needed, or a place to eat or sleep? Maybe it was a new coat or blanket? I don’t know.

I wouldn’t know because I didn’t care enough to find out. I had no good reason at all to not stop and pay attention to the man in need. Basically I was selfish and just wanted to drive home and go to sleep. In my warm bed. With a full stomach.

The wise words of Ben (a good cow) in the newly released movie ‘Barnyard’:

A strong man stands up for himself. A stronger man stands up for others.

I didn’t do it.

December 21, 2006 - Posted by | All My Thinks

3 Comments »

  1. I’m glad you were able to look at the situation and analyze your actions. Most people would have probably driven by and never given it a second thought.

    I hope it has motivated you to do more in the future. Do you think next time you run into a similar situation you might do something differently?

    Comment by Laci | December 21, 2006

  2. hey thanks for dropping by!
    we seem to have some similar hobbies/skills- reading, blogging, photography and eating.. lol
    God bless
    -Christine

    Comment by enit | December 22, 2006

  3. I’ve struggled in this situation too. I probably find myself in this situation 1-3 times a week where I live. Sometimes I help, most times I don’t. But my conscious gets me every time.

    Comment by John Smulo | December 23, 2006


Leave a Reply

