Thinks on Things

A gathering of ponderings…

Planning to freeze

Tonight I attended a presentation on Winter Camping. It was very informative and I thought the Gear Geek leading it was rather entertaining as ‘a 50 years+, balding, fat man’ (his own words). So I learned a lot on how to stay warm and prevent dying out in the wilderness without dragging along a space heater. Basically you need a lot of money to spend on really expensive equipment. I figured that I could easily spend $1,000 on purchasing duplicate things that I already have but that won’t help me survive sub-zero temperatures.

So I decided that I would just wing it sometime with the equipment I have. Besides, where’s the adventure in knowing that you’ll be warm (or alive) the whole time…?

December 7, 2006 - Posted by | All My Thinks

2 Comments »

  1. Don’t be too hasty. Remember James Kim!

    Comment by lukeprog | December 7, 2006

  2. Luke,

    Thanks for the advice but there is no need to worry. In reality I will probably have to resort to the methods I have used in the past: building a snowfort in my yard and spending the night 30ft from the comforts of home… I’m not about to risk my life for no reason just because I can’t afford $1,000 in the latest equipment.

    laj

    Comment by Lael Jensen | December 11, 2006


Leave a Reply

