Thinks on Things

A gathering of ponderings…

Black Friday

Because I work as a substitute mail carrier at the Post Office whenever someone feels like having a vacation or a day off I get to rearrange my schedule to work those days. So I was noticing on that infamous Shopping Day From Hell that perhaps 2 or 3 people actually smiled real smiles as they went about their tasks. This excludes the greeters at Walnut that actually get money for smiling at everyone for hours…

So I was wondering what happened to the whole Holiday Season where people are happy and grateful and really excited about life? I must say that this includes myself. What I find mysterious is that all but a handful of people seem to be having rough lives just like me. Can this really be the case or is it a growing selfishness gnawing at America?

So whatever the case may be for lack of Enthusiasm and Holiday Spirit pervading our society, I wonder how people can actually have the gaul to pretend to be thoughtfully gift shopping for friends and family when it’s all about getting good deals on junk we don’t need?

So if anyone who reads this went shopping on Black Friday and actually smiled for real, leave me a comment and let me know why?

December 4, 2006 - Posted by | All My Thinks

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

